About Us

Directorate of Matriculation Schools

Matriculation Schools are self-financing institutions. Basically Matriculation schools were under the control of the Universities of Madras and Madurai. With a separate identity of their own, Matriculation Schools while being affiliated to these two universities were allowed financial as well as functional autonomy. They were brought under the control of Directorate of School Education in the year 1978 for administrative convenience. The number of schools functioning at that time was about 20 only. These schools are governed by the Code of Regulations for Matriculation Schools 1978. The number of Matriculation Schools increased year by year. Hence, a separate Directorate of Matriculation Schools was formed in the year 2001 for the effective monitoring of Matriculation Schools. At present there are 4268 Matriculation schools providing education to 39,18,221 children. There are 15 Inspector of Matriculation Schools are under the control of the Directorate.

Director of Matriculation Schools is the State Chief Nodal Officer for the Implementation of the Right of Children to Free and Compulsory Education Act, 2009

Thiru K.A Sengottaiyan, Hon’ble Minister, School Education, Sports and Youth Welfare Department, Government of Tamil Nadu

Thiru Pradeep Yadav, IAS, Principal Secretary, Government of Tamil Nadu

Dr. S. Kannappan, Director of Matriculation Schools

Dr. C. Usharani, Joint Director of Matriculation Schools